Deprecated: Function eregi() is deprecated in /var/www/ on line 21

Deprecated: Function eregi() is deprecated in /var/www/ on line 41

MSU's Jackson, Lawrence Named to Watch Lists

Posted by Robby Donoho | July 16, 2012 / 03:53pm | College Sports, Local Sports
STARKVILLE, Miss. (WCBI/MSU Athletics) -- Mississippi State junior offensive lineman Gabe Jackson was named to the 2012 Rotary Lombardi Award Watch List, the Rotary Club of Houston announced Monday. Since 1970, the award has been given annually to the college football lineman -- offense or defense -- who, in addition to outstanding performance and ability, best exemplifies the discipline of Vince Lombardi.

Also named to the Outland Trophy watch list this past Thursday, Jackson was selected to the Lombardi list after earning the start at left guard in all 13 games last season. In addition to his two watch list selections, the 2011 sophomore All-American has been named preseason All-SEC this summer by the SEC coaches, Athlon, Phil Steele and the Birmingham News. As the anchor of the offensive line in 2011 who tallied a team-best 67 takedowns, Jackson helped the Maroon and White reach the top 10 in school history for single-season marks in passing touchdowns, passing completions, total yards and first downs.

The Rotary Lombardi Award Selection Committee is comprised of more than 500 members, including all past winners and finalists, all FBS head coaches and a panel of sportswriters and broadcasters. The watch list is a reference tool for the selection committee and will be periodically revised until the first round of voting is completed.

The first round of voting determines the Top-25 quarterfinalists for 2012. The second round of voting will determine the final seven semifinalists. The third round of voting will determine the four finalists, with the fourth and final round of voting determining the winner of The 43rd Rotary Lombardi Award. The winner will be announced on national television live at 8 p.m. on Wednesday, Dec. 5, 2012, at The Hobby Center in Houston, Texas.

Gabe Jackson's 2012 Preseason Honors
Outland Trophy Watch List
Rotary Lombardi Award Watch List
All-SEC Second Team (Offense): SEC Coaches, Athlon, Phil Steele, Birmingham News


Mississippi State senior linebacker Cameron Lawrence was named to the 2012 Butkus Award Watch List, the Butkus Foundation announced Monday. In its 28th year, the award is given annually to the top linebacker in college football.

Lawrence, the leading returning tackler in the Southeastern Conference, was selected to the list after racking up 123 tackles in 2011, including 50 solo stops. The Coldwater, Miss., native recorded 6.0 tackles for loss, 2.0 sacks, two interceptions and one fumble recovery in 13 starts for the Maroon and White a year ago.

In a vote by the league's 14 football information directors last month, the senior was also named preseason first-team All-SEC. In addition, Lawrence was placed on the preseason All-SEC squad by Athlon (third team) and Phil Steele (fourth team).

Lawrence will find out Oct. 22 if he is the first Bulldog linebacker since Barrin Simpson in 1999 to be named a semifinalist. Finalists will be named Nov. 20, with the winner being announced on or before Dec. 4. 

The Butkus Award is presented by the Butkus Foundation, a 501c3 non-profit organization. It is part of the National College Football Awards Association, a coalition of the major collegiate awards. 

Cameron Lawrence's 2012 Preseason Honors
Butkus Award Watch List
All-SEC First Team (Defense): Birmingham News
All-SEC Third Team (Defense): Athlon
All-SEC Fourth Team (Defense): Phil Steele

Content Management Powered by CuteNews


follow us on facebook follow us on facebook Get our mobile app for iPhone and iPad Get the WCBI mobile app for Android