Deprecated: Function eregi() is deprecated in /var/www/ on line 21

Deprecated: Function eregi() is deprecated in /var/www/ on line 41

Chad Ramey Wins the 2012 Trustmark Invitational

Posted by Robby Donoho | July 29, 2012 / 06:53pm | College Sports, Local Sports
TUPELO, Miss. (WCBI/Trustmark Invite) -- Chad Ramey won the Trustmark Invitational Golf Tournament with a three day total 206, ten under par.  The weekend tournament was played at the Tupelo Country Club. 

Going into the final round of play Alex Rowland was leading with a two day score 138 with Chad Ramey and Eddie Brescher tied for second.  Barrett Edens and Fletcher Johnson began the day at fourth and fifth place respectively.  

Chad Ramey, from Fulton and Mississippi State golf team member, birdied all four par five holes and only boged hole; number two.  At the end of play he turned in a winning scorecard with six birdies and one bogey.  Barrett Edens from Okolona and Alex Rowland from Houston and both Mississippi State golf teammates tied for second with a three day total 208, eight under par.  Fletcher Johnson from Belden and Mississippi State golf team member rounded out the top four with a three day total 210, six under par.  Eddie Brescher from Ridgeland placed fifth with a total of 211, five under par.

"Playing with my teammates was fun and challenging.  It put a level of excitement into the tournament."  said Chad Ramey, "My short game was strong and felt I played well on the greens.  I remained calm and at the end of the day it all paid off.”

The low professional was won in a one hole playoff between Bob Wolcott, PGA Professional at Tunica National and Reed Hughes from Senatobia.  Wolcott won the playoff and the winner’s purse of $2,400.00.  

The tournament showcases a field of the state’s top golf professionals and amateurs.  Amateurs and professionals competed for a total purse of $23,000, while amateurs were awarded gift certificates and merchandise prizes, including golf equipment and accessories.  

All MPGA professionals and apprentices are eligible to play.  Amateurs must have their handicap verified by a PGA Professional, and then submit their entry for consideration.  The Mississippi PGA is comprised of 120 PGA professionals who are recognized experts in the game and business of golf, and are employed at 60 of Mississippi’s finest golf facilities.  

1    Chad Ramey (a)         70-69-67--206 -10  
 T2   Barrett Edens (a)      68-72-68--208 -8  
 T2   Alex Rowland (a)       68-70-70--208 -8  
 4    Fletcher Johnson (a)   70-71-69--210 -6  
 5    Eddie Brescher (a)     72-67-72--211 -5  
 T6   Reed Lindsey (a)       71-74-69--214 -2  
 T6   Reed Hughes (p)        72-71-71--214 -2  
 T6   Bob Wolcott (p)        72-70-72--214 -2  
 9    Tim Yelverton (p)      73-72-71--216 E    
 T10  Matt Cooper (a)        72-72-73--217 +1  
 T10  Damon Palmer (a)       73-70-74--217 +1  
 T12  Michael Hodges (a)     73-72-73--218 +2  
 T12  Thomas Watkins (a)     73-70-75--218 +2  
 T12  Austin Rose (a)        76-72-70--218 +2  
 15   Cliff Bailey (p)       71-74-74--219 +3  
 T16  Olly Thomson (p)       72-77-71--220 +4  
 T16  Wilson Reeder (a)      74-71-75--220 +4  
 T16  Vince Hodges (a)       71-71-78--220 +4  
 T19  Chad Bounds (a)        72-75-74--221 +5  
 T19  Robert Pannell (a)     77-70-74--221 +5  
 T19  Anthony Price (p)      77-69-75--221 +5  
 T19  Easton Key (a)         73-72-76--221 +5  
 T19  Alan Ellis (a)         77-69-75--221 +5  
 T19  Shaw Nickels (a)       75-73-73--221 +5  
 T25  Leigh Brannan (p)      76-74-73--223 +7  
 T25  Kevin Kelly (p)        76-76-71--223 +7  
 T27  Drew Richardson (a)    71-75-78--224 +8  
 T27  Leighton Greer (a)     74-73-77--224 +8  
 T27  Mark Enis (a)          75-76-73--224 +8  
 T27  Matt McConnell (a)     74-77-73--224 +8  
 T27  Bobby Lehman (a)       74-76-74--224 +8  
 T27  Steve Johnson (a)      74-75-75--224 +8  
 T33  Duke Simmons (a)       75-79-71--225 +9  
 T33  Jon Howell (p)         76-75-74--225 +9  
 T35  Steven Driggers (p)    74-77-75--226 +10  
 T35  Joseph Hanko (p)       80-75-71--226 +10  
 T37  Nic Ishee (a)          77-76-74--227 +11  
 T37  Hugh Muse (a)          76-75-76--227 +11  
 T39  T.J. Morgan (a)        79-75-74--228 +12  
 T39  Rob McGraw (p)         79-72-77--228 +12  
 T39  Bobby Parks (a)        78-74-76--228 +12  
 T39  Rickey Riley (a)       76-76-76--228 +12  
 T43  Scott Uithoven (a)     76-78-75--229 +13  
 T43  David Sellers (a)      73-80-76--229 +13  
 T43  Rob Darden (a)         74-76-79--229 +13  
 46   Chris Mills (a)        73-79-78--230 +14  
 T47  Miles Johnson (a)      76-79-76--231 +15  
 T47  Trae Belk (a)          82-74-75--231 +15  
 T47  Marshall Saxon (p)     79-81-71--231 +15  
 T47  Chad Darby (p)         84-78-69--231 +15  
 T47  Richard Reed (a)       73-79-79--231 +15
Content Management Powered by CuteNews


follow us on facebook follow us on facebook Get our mobile app for iPhone and iPad Get the WCBI mobile app for Android