Deprecated: Function eregi() is deprecated in /var/www/ on line 21

Deprecated: Function eregi() is deprecated in /var/www/ on line 41

Banks, Bumphis Make Bulldogs Only SEC Team With Two on Hornung Watch List

Posted by Robby Donoho | August 02, 2012 / 01:37pm | College Sports, Local Sports

STARKVILLE, Miss. (WCBI/MSU Athletics) -- Hours before the first fall practice of 2012 Thursday, Mississippi State All-American defensive back Johnthan Banks and Wide Receiver Chad Bumphis were named to the 2012 Watch List for the Paul Hornung Award, the Louisville Sports Commission announced. The Bulldogs are the only school in the Southeastern Conference to place two players on the list for the award, given annually to the most versatile player in major college football.

Banks made the 49-player list after becoming the only cornerback in the SEC last season to rack up at least 70 tackles and record five interceptions. The senior, who was named to his eighth preseason All-SEC First Team Wednesday by, has additionally been named to the watch lists for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, Bednarik Award, Jim Thorpe Award and Lott IMPACT Trophy. Banks has similarly earned preseason All-SEC honors by four different groups for his special teams work.

Bumphis, one of 12 SEC players on the list, made it after pulling in 25 catches for 339 yards and three touchdowns a season ago. Splitting time with Banks as a punt returner, the senior returned eight punts for 133 yards, including an 82-yard sprint for a touchdown in the home win against Western Athletic Conference champion Louisiana Tech.

Johnthan Banks' Preseason Honors
Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List
Bednarik Award Watch List
Jim Thorpe Award Watch List
Lott IMPACT Trophy Watch List
Paul Hornung Award Watch List
All-American: Athlon (First Team), Phil Steele (Second Team)
All-SEC First Team (Defense): SEC Coaches, Athlon, Blue Ribbon, Birmingham News, Lindys, Phil Steele, USA TodayAll-SEC Second Team (Defense): SEC Media
All-SEC Second Team (All-Purpose/Special Teams): SEC Coaches
All-SEC Third Team (All-Purpose/Special Teams): SEC Media, Athlon, Phil Steele
Lindys Magazine "Best Cover Corner in SEC"

Chad Bumphis' Preseason Honors

Paul Hornung Award Watch List

2012 Watch List Selections
Jared Abbrederis, Wisconsin
Ameer Abdullah, Nebraska
Keenan Allen, California
Tavon Austin, West Virginia
Kenjon Barner, Oregon
Jonathan Banks, Mississippi State
D.J. Beshears, Kansas
Matt Brown, Temple
Chad Bumphis, Mississippi State
Trey Burton, Florida
Adrian Bushell, Louisville
Jesse Callier, Washington
Michael Campanaro, Wake Forest
Brandon Carter, TCU
Tommy Davis, Illinois
Quandre Diggs, Texas
Jerry "BooBoo" Gates, Bowling Green
Justin Gilbert, Oklahoma State
Jordan Hall, Ohio State
Dustin Harris, Texas A&M
Terry Hawthorne, Illinois
Dennis Johnson, Arkansas
Chandler Jones, San Jose State
Perry Jones, Virginia
Tracy Lampley, Southern Mississippi
Marqise Lee, Southern California
Josh Lenz, Iowa State
Venric Marks, Northwestern
Onterio McCaleb, Auburn
Qunicy McDuffe, Central Florida
Tyrann Mathieu, LSU
Jamal Miles, Arizona State
T.J. Moe, Missouri
Ty Montgomery, Stanford
Warren Norman, Vanderbilt
Jordan Poyer, Oregon State
Theo Riddick, Notre Dame
Nickell Robey, Southern California
Ace Sanders, South Carolina
Jeff Scott, Ole Miss
Branden Smith, Georgia
Orwin Smith, Georgia Tech
Darryl Surgent, Louisiana-Lafayette
De'Anthony Thomas, Oregon
Justin Veltung, Idaho
Sammy Watkins, Clemson
Trey Watts, Tulsa
Kerwynn Williams, Utah State
Robert Woods, Southern California

Content Management Powered by CuteNews


follow us on facebook follow us on facebook Get our mobile app for iPhone and iPad Get the WCBI mobile app for Android