Deprecated: Function eregi() is deprecated in /var/www/ on line 21

Deprecated: Function eregi() is deprecated in /var/www/ on line 41

Johnson Elected to State Post

Posted by Steve Rogers | August 10, 2012 / 03:19pm | Local News, Business, Education
East Mississippi Community College trustee Rupert L. "Rudy" Johnson was elected treasurer for the Mississippi Association of Community and Junior College Trustees in July, putting him in line to serve each office up to and including chairman.

Under the rules governing MACJCT officers, Johnson will serve two years as treasurer before moving on to serve two years as secretary, two years as vice chairman and two years as chairman.

He was elected treasurer by the combined trustees of all Mississippi community colleges during the MACJCT annual meeting July 14 in Tunica. His term began immediately upon election.

Johnson has represented Oktibbeha County on the EMCC Board of Trustees since 2010. He is former associate director of EMCC's Golden Triangle campus from 1980-1990 and currently serves as executive director of the Golden Triangle Planning and Development District.

"Some of my favorite work experience was as assistant director at EMCC and my Holmes Junior College days were my best days in college. I really believe the community college system is a very viable part of education in Mississippi. I'm excited to serve our community college system in yet another capacity," said Johnson.

Johnson is the second EMCC trustee elected to hold an MACJCT office. Jeff Jolly, who represented Noxubee County on EMCC's Board of Trustees, held office in the 1990s.

"Rudy brings a great enthusiasm and love for our community college system to everything he's involved with. EMCC is fortunate to have a local trustee serve as an officer at the state level and our state community colleges are fortunate to count Rudy as an advocate," said EMCC President Dr. Rick Young.

Johnson joins fellow MACJCT officers Chairman Johnny McGlown of Coahoma Community College, Vice Chairman David Gardner of Jones County Junior College and Secretary Dr. Jimmy Hollingsworth of East Central Community College.
Content Management Powered by CuteNews


follow us on facebook follow us on facebook Get our mobile app for iPhone and iPad Get the WCBI mobile app for Android