0 Comments for this article

GOLDEN TRIANGLE, Miss. (WCBI) — They’ve provided a listening ear and an open heart to people of the Golden Triangle for 40 years.

Wednesday, the members of the Community Counseling Services celebrated the mental health milestone with a lunch at Old Waverly in West Point.

With more than 300 certified counselors and volunteers, they are trained to treat mental health issues, learning disabilities, as well as drug and alcohol abuse.

The seven county service region includes Oktibbeha, Clay, Lowndes, Choctaw, Noxubee, Webster and Winston counties.

MORE INFORMATION: (www.ccsms.org)

The community Mental Health centers in Mississippi were formed as a result of the Federal Community Mental Health Centers Act of 1963, mandating community access to mental health care. The Mississippi State Legislature passed the region Commission Act of 1972 to organize its own community mental health centers. The state is divided into 15 mental health regions according to population. Community Counseling Services, serving one of those regions, is officially known as Mississippi Region VII Mental Health/Mental Retardation Commission.

The board of Supervisor in each county served appoints a Mental Health Commissioner to act as a representative of that county on the Community Counseling Services’ governing board for four years. Community Counseling Services is a public non-profit agency licensed and partially funded by the Mississippi State Department of Mental Health.

CRISIS HOTLINE: 1-888-943-3022

Comment on this Story

Related News

41878761 - entertainment news showing newsletter media and word
15 mins ago
0 Comments for this article
Rihanna to crowd: No catching Pokemon during the show
Read More»
10205176 - world news concept. abstract world map made from world news words. vector.
27 mins ago
0 Comments for this article
Israeli tourist gang-raped in India, police say
Read More»
Better Rain Chances Coming
28 mins ago
0 Comments for this article
Forecast: Rain Chances Increase This Week
Read More»