1 Comments for this article

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) – The Mississippi Department of Public Safety has dropped the $6 photo fee it tacked onto the price of concealed-carry gun permit.

Spokesman Warren Strain says DPS is working to refund the money to anyone has paid the fee since it was added July 1.

The fee was dropped Monday in response to an attorney general’s legal opinion that says state law sets the price of concealed-carry gun permit at $100, plus $32 paid by the applicant for a fingerprint and background check. The opinion says DPS may not charge more.

Strain says a private vendor was charging DPS a $6 photo fee for each gun permit, and DPS either had to absorb the cost or pass it on to consumers.

A $6 photo fee remains in place on driver’s licenses.

 

Comment on this Story

  • Elaine Vechorik

    From his Facebook page: Tate Reeves · 10,596 like this
    43 minutes ago ·

    I call on DPS to refund gun permit holders who were wrongly overcharged for permits. Attorney General Jim Hood has issued an opinion saying DPS did not have the authority to raise fees on gun permits.

    My first thought when I learned of this bureaucratic cash grab was that the Obama Administration mindset had taken over the Department of Public Safety leadership.The commissioner’s action clearly violates state law, demonstrates a lack of leadership and makes it appear he wants to be in the gun control business. Mississippians are tired of government reaching deeper into their pockets to justify agency overspending. I expect the DPS Commissioner to follow the law immediately and offer refunds to law-abiding gun owners who have been overcharged for their right to carry a concealed weapon.

Related News

news-default1-old
1 hour ago
0 Comments for this article
Morning Weather Update 12-9-16
Read More»
capture
1 hour ago
0 Comments for this article
Friday Forecast: Sunny & Cold!
Read More»
car-crash
7 hours ago
0 Comments for this article
Breaking: One Dead, One Injured In Lee County Car Crash
Read More»