Burn Bans in effect: Seven Northeast Mississippi counties under alert

MISSISSIPPI (WCBI) – Seven counties remain under burn bans in the WCBI viewing area. Clay, Monroe, Chickasaw, Calhoun, Lee, Pontotoc, and Union Counties are under the alert. Very little rain over the last month has led to the bans.

Counties south of I20 in Mississippi and others are also under burn bans.

Clay County deputies said they continue to receive calls about people burning. You can be fined if you are caught burning while a ban is in place.

Most of the restrictions are scheduled to expire next month but they could be extended.

For 24/7 news and updates, follow us on Facebook and Twitter

Categories: Local News, State News