2012 WCBI’s End Zone Mississippi Football Awards

COLUMBUS, Miss. (WCBI) —For the first time: Mark and Robby debated, discussed, and voted on their awards for the best in the area of high school football.

Noxubee County’s Darrell Robinson takes home the Offensive Player of the Year award after breaking the MHSAA record for TD’s scored in a season.

Below are the nominees and the winners of the awards including the 2012 All-End Zone Team.


2012 End Zone Offensive Player of the Year
Darrell Robinson, Noxubee County
– 330 carries, 2,686 yards. 50 TD’s (New MHSAA Record)

Ashton Shumpert, Itawamba AHS
Boston Newsome, New Albany
Aeris Williams, West Point
Wyatt Roberts, Louisville
Gabe Myles, Starkville


(Chickasaw 360)
Houston’s Chris Jones was a behemoth on defense this season, and thus has earned WCBI End Zone Defensive Player of the Year.

2012 End Zone Defensive Player of the Year
Chris Jones, Houston
– 160 total tackles, 14 sacks, INT for TD

Dylan Bradley, Noxubee County
Jeremy Sangster, Louisville
Ben Hosket, French Camp
Jonathan Bobo, Bruce
Javancy Jones, Noxubee County






2012 End Zone Coach of the Year
Nathan Wright, French Camp Academy
– Wright helped lead the Panthers to their first ever State Title appearance in school history this season.

French Camp’s Nathan Wright earns WCBI End Zone’s Coach of the Year.

Jamie Mitchell, Starkville
Tyrone Shorter, Noxubee County
Ron Price, New Albany
Barrett Donahoe, Heritage Academy
Junior Graham, Eupora
Billy Cook, Houston
Tim Melton, Calhoun Academy
Toby Collums, Itawamba AHS






Tyrone Shorter and the Noxubee County Tigers are our WCBI End Zone Team of the Year.

2012 End Zone Team of the Year
Noxubee County Tigers
– The Tigers completed the perfect season in Jackson by defeating Greene County 16-6 in the Class 4A State Title. Noxubee County is now one of four teams in MHSAA Football history to finish a season 16-0.

Heritage Academy
French Camp
Calhoun Academy







End Zone’s BEST GAME of 2012
West Point vs. Starkville – November 23, 2012

(Daily Journal)
Starkville’s Preston Baker broke off a big run in the 2nd quarter to help the Jackets to a 29-28 victory over West Point on November 23rd.

– Simply put: the game that decided the 2012 Class 5A Champion. West Point led 28-21 on 4th and Goal at the 15 in overtime for Starkville; that was until Gabe Myles unbelievable 15-yd TD pass and 2-point conversion gave the Jackets the historic victory over the Green Wave.

New Site-Wheeler at Immanuel (Rams 82-80, 7OT)
West Point at South Panola (Tigers 13-12)
Heritage Academy vs. Magnolia Heights (Patriots 10-3)
West Bolivar at Bruce (Trojans 14-12)
West Point at Noxubee County (Tigers 6-0)
Bruce at Eupora (Eagles 31-28)


2012 All-End Zone Team (Player of the Year Not Included)
QB – Gabe Myles, Starkville/Davis Brown, Bruce/Wyatt Roberts, Louisville
RB – Ashton Shumpert, Itawamba AHS/Boston Newsome, New Albany/Aeris Williams, West Point/Tray Baber, Noxapater
FB – Charles Moore, Itawamba AHS/Chico Harrison, Aberdeen/Jaylon Clemons, French Camp
WR – Dario Robinson, Amory/Derrick Jones, Eupora/Desmond Goss, Louisville/AJ Hunt, Saltillo
TE – Terrance Minor, West Point
OL – Jake Thomas, Columbus/Ross Smith, Booneville/Taylor Edwards, Water Valley/Jawan Johnson, Starkville/Ethan Orr, Itawamba AHS
K – Sam Bould, French Camp
KR – Chris Thornton, Houston

DL – Dylan Bradley, Noxubee County/Jacoby Lewis, Noxapater/Freddie Reed, West Point/Xavier Pegues, Oxford
LB – Javancy Jones, Noxubee County/Jeremy Sangster, Louisville/Turner Sanderson, Smithville/Taylor Johnston, Starkville/Logan Dodds, Thrasher
DB – Aaron McMillian, Aberdeen/Brandon Mack, Lafayette/Quinn Tiggs, Tupelo/Johnny Smith, Starkville/Donta Walker, Vardaman
P – Jeb Millender, Pontotoc/Eric Lemus, West Point

Categories: High School Sports, Local Sports, Top Sports Story

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *