0 Comments for this article

STARKVILLE, Miss. (WCBI/MSU Athletics) — Mississippi State baseball players garnered a school-record six postseason Southeastern Conference honors for the 2013 campaign. The honors were compiled in a vote of the league’s coaches, who were not permitted to vote for their own athletes.

Junior outfielder Hunter Renfroe (Crystal Springs, Miss.) and sophomore relief pitcher Jonathan Holder (Gulfport, Miss.) were named to the All-SEC First Team while junior second baseman Brett Pirtle (Tyler, Texas) was accorded second team All-SEC honors.

(Commercial Appeal)
Senior Sam Frost was voted SEC Baseball Scholar Athlete of the Year on Tuesday.

Two Bulldogs, shortstop Adam Frazier (Bishop, Ga.) and outfielder Hunter Renfroe, were named to the SEC All Defensive Team while senior infielder Sam Frost (Hoover, Ala.) was tabbed as the Southeastern Conference Scholar Athlete of the Year.

It marks the first time since 2006 that MSU has had two first-team All-SEC selections and the most overall All-SEC selections since 1997. In 2012 pitcher Kendall Graveman became the first Mississippi State player named to the SEC’s All Defensive Team.

Renfroe leads Mississippi State with a .352 batting average, 54 RBI and shares the SEC lead with 15 home runs. Holder sports a 1.00 earned run average and shares the SEC lead with 16 saves. Pirtle sports a .310 batting average and has assisted with 39 of Mississippi State’s 69 double plays.

Bulldog shortstop Adam Frazier has compiled a .352 batting average with 30 RBI and an SEC third-most 90 hits while leading the SEC with 210 assists.

Frost, an infielder with the team’s third-best batting average (.324), compiled a 3.76 grade point average in mathematics in 2012-13 en route to becoming the first Mississippi State player to receive the SEC Scholar Athlete of the Year honors.

Mississippi State begins its 33rd advancement to NCAA postseason competition Friday in the 2013 Starkville Regional, taking on Central Arkansas at 7 p.m.


SEC PLAYER OF THE YEAR – Tony Kemp, Vanderbilt



SEC SCHOLAR-ATHLETE OF THE YEAR – Sam Frost, Mississippi State

SEC COACH OF THE YEAR – Tim Corbin, Vanderbilt


1B – Mason Katz, LSU

2B – Tony Kemp, Vanderbilt

3B – Christian Ibarra, LSU

SS – Alex Bregman, LSU

C – Stuart Turner, Ole Miss     

OF – Hunter Renfroe, Mississippi State 

OF - Mike Yastrzemski, Vanderbilt

OF – Raph Rhymes, LSU

DH/UTL – Keaton Steele, Missouri

A.J. Reed, Kentucky

P – Ryne Stanek, Arkansas

P – Aaron Nola, LSU

RP – Jonathan Holder, Mississippi State 


1B – Garrett Cooper, Auburn

2B – Brett Pirtle, Mississippi State

JaCoby Jones, LSU

3B – Curt Powell, Georgia

       Andrew Mistone, Ole Miss

SS – Mikey Reynolds, Texas A&M

      Mikey White, Alabama

C – Grayson Greiner, South Carolina

OF – Connor Harrell, Vanderbilt

OF – Brian Anderson, Arkansas

OF – Krey Bratsen, Texas A&M

DH/UTL – Daniel Mengden, Texas A&M

P – Tyler Beede, Vanderbilt

P – Bobby Wahl, Ole Miss

RP – Tyler Webb, South Carolina


1B – Josh Lester, Missouri

2B – Kyle Overstreet, Alabama

3B – Xavier Turner, Vanderbilt

SS – Alex Bregman, LSU

C – Greg Fettes, Kentucky

OF -Kyle Barrett, Kentucky

OF - Vincent Jackson, Tennessee

OF – Harrison Bader, Florida

DH/UTL – Zander Wiel, Vanderbilt

P – Jack Wynkoop, South Carolina

P – Sean McLaughlin, Georgia

RP – Carson Fulmer, Vanderbilt

       Ray Castillo, Alabama


P –   Daniel Mengden, Texas A&M

1B – Mason Katz, LSU; Cole Lankford, Texas A&M

2B – Tony Kemp, Vanderbilt

SS – Adam Frazier, Mississippi State

3B – Christian Ibarra, LSU

C – Stuart Turner, Ole Miss     

OF – Austin Cousino, Kentucky

OF – Mike Yastrzemski, Vanderbilt

OF - Hunter Renfroe, Mississippi State

Related News

1 hour ago
0 Comments for this article
Man catches teen falling from park ride: ‘It’s OK to let go’
Read More»
2 hours ago
0 Comments for this article
Nice and Sunny to Start the Week!
Read More»
2 hours ago
0 Comments for this article
Weather Webcast (06.25.16)
Read More»