0 Comments for this article

COLUMBUS, Miss. (WCBI) –  After its success in 2012, the All-End Zone awards have returned to crown the best in high school football here in Mississippi.

The WCBI Sports team of Robby Donoho, Jonathan Flippo, and Tommy Lopez carefully debated and decided over the best players, teams, coaches, and moments of the 2013 high school football season.

Below are the nominees and winners of the End Zone Player, Coach, Team, and Game of the Year.

(Stats and information are provided by the schools and MaxPreps)

2013 End Zone Offensive Player of the Year

(Mississippi Gridiron) West Point running back Aeris Williams is the 2013 End Zone Offensive Player of the Year.

(Mississippi Gridiron)
West Point running back Aeris Williams is the 2013 End Zone Offensive Player of the Year.

– Williams had one of the best seasons out of any player in the state of Mississippi this 2013 season. Not only did he average over 185 yards rushing per game, but he also totaled over 20 touchdowns on the season. It wasn’t an easy task for the Mississippi State commit. With defenses keyed on stopping the A-Train and his rushing ability, he still was able to run for an astonishing 1,697 yards on just 265 carries.
Wyatt Roberts, Louisville
Kenzie Phillips, Oxford
Diamante Pounds, Saltillo
Jack Abraham, Oxford
Quinn Tiggs, Tupelo
Jamarcus Bradley, Choctaw County


2013 End Zone Defensive Player of the Year

(24/7) Louisville's Jeremy Sangster is the 2013 End Zone Defensive Player of the Year.

(24/7 Sports)
Louisville’s Jeremy Sangster is the 2013 End Zone Defensive Player of the Year.

– Sangster was a nominee for the 2012 Defensive Player of the Year, but this season the senior linebacker came up aces. Sangster tallied an extraordinary 146 tackles on the 2013 season, which is ranked 11th in the state by MaxPreps. That number could have been much larger as Sangster sat out most 4th quarters with the Wildcats having already had their outcome decided. His 27 tackles for loss is one of the top stats in the state and his 18 sacks is tied for first on his team.
Eric Hunt, Noxubee County
James Gilleylen, Tupelo
TC Hatchett, Choctaw County
Kirkland Horton, Water Valley

2013 End Zone Coach of the Year

(Daily Journal/Lauren Wood) Tupelo's Trent Hammond is the 2013 End Zone Coach of the Year.

(Daily Journal/Lauren Wood)
Tupelo’s Trent Hammond is the 2013 End Zone Coach of the Year.

– The turnaround made by the Golden Wave in the first season of the Trent Hammond era is nothing short of a miracle. Them blankets hadn’t won more than 10 games in a season since the glory days of the 90’s yet it appears the glory days have returned to Golden Wave Stadium. This season, Hammond turned the Wave into a defensive juggernaut and brought the offense to life as Tupelo defeated South Panola for the first time since 2001 to advance to the 6A State Championship.
M.C. Miller, Louisville
Johnny Hill, Oxford
Bubba Tacker, Smithville
Eric Robertson, Lafayette
Perry Liles, Calhoun City
Nathan Wright, French Camp


2013 End Zone Team of the Year
French Camp

2013 End Zone Game of the Year
South Panola/Tupelo
Calhoun City/Okolona
North Pontotoc/Kemper County
East Union/HW Byers
Noxapater/Nanih Waiya

2013 All-End Zone First Team (Player of the Year is not included)

2013 All-End Zone Second Team
QB – Jack Abraham, Oxford
RB – Quinn Tiggs, Tupelo
RB – DK Buford, Lafayette
RB – Roger Thomas, West Point
WR – Levert Jernigan, Nettleton
WR – Dontea Jones, Louisville
OL – Trevara Miller, Noxapater
OL – Tyler Floyd, Booneville
OL – Tamarcus Williams, Noxubee County
OL – Anderson Gund, Louisville
OL – Kenyana Heard, North Pontotoc
ATH – Donta Armstrong, Bruce
ATH – Duke Upshaw, Baldwyn
K  – Sam Gould, French Camp

DL – Anthony Gund, Louisville
DL –
Corey Brown, Columbus
DL –
Ladarius Gallion, West Point
DL –
Darrius Liggins, Oxford
DL –
Malik Slaughter, Louisville
LB – Taylor Johnston, Starkville
LB – Nathan Smith, Houston
LB – Channing Hughes, Louisville
LB – Marbrecio Crump, Baldwyn
DB – AJ Rye, Saltillo
DB – Dvanta Randle, West Point
DB – Antraveon Jamison, Noxubee County
DB – Otis Wilson, Tupelo
P – Michael Godley, Starkville

2013 All-End Zone Third Team
QB – Jesse Hosket, French Camp
RB – Demarcus Brooks, Louisville
RB – Lamontae Salley, Eupora
RB – Zeus Rogers, Booneville
RB/WR – Justin Robertson, Noxapater
WR – Sammie Burroughs, Aberdeen
WR – Chris Blackmon, Falkner
WR – Nick Burns, Mantachie
OL – Cortez Johnson, French Camp
OL – Tyler Hickman, Louisville
OL – Lee Mitchell, Water Valley
OL – Shaquille Shinault, Baldwyn
OL – Tristan Hopkins, Ripley
ATH – Jay Johnson, Bruce
ATH – Quinshay Heard, Hamilton
K  – Eathen Rainey, New Albany

DL – Malik Bell, Starkville
DL –
Dakendrick Gooch, Water Valley
DL –
Jelen Hadley, Saltillo
DL –
Tripp Janssen, Starkville Academy
DL –
Terrance Smith, Aberdeen
LB – Tamoris Draine, Eupora
LB – CJ McLaughlin, North Pontotoc
LB – Shaq Wright, Calhoun City
LB – Aleck Hobson, Ripley
DB – Andrew Lambert, Booneville
DB – Iverson Ivy, Tupelo
DB – KJ Lee, Water Valley
DB – Brooks Shannon, North Pontotoc
P – Dalton Hudspeth, Louisville

2013 All-End Zone Honorable Mention
Dalton James, Ripley
Trey Jolly, North Pontotoc
Dakota Cruber, Nettleton
Corbin Scott, Baldwyn
Trey Pittman, Eupora
Drew Lann, Smithville
Josh Williams, Aberdeen
Brady Davis, New Hope
Dustin Carrell, Mantachie

Running Back
Tyler Hood, Smithville
Tyrell Price, Lafayette
Christian Johnson, Ripley
Michael Erving, French Camp
Dequin Babbit, Okolona
Blake Spruill, East Union
Jeremy Wilkes, North Pontotoc
Lavarious Varnado, Calhoun City
Hunter Anderson, Heritage Academy
JT Herring, New Site
Jeramie Lawrence, Falkner
Hagan Box, French Camp

Wide Receiver
Joey Walden, Oxford
Raphael Leonard, Starkville
Corson Gunn, Eupora
Neil Knight, Smithville
Ethan Holmes, Oxford
Isaiah Howard, Ripley
Logan Bell, Heritage Academy
Victor Deloach, New Hope

Armanti Linton, Walnut
Jacolbi Heard, Okolona
Deangelo Liggins, East Webster
Jamarlo Smith, Nanih Waiya
Luke Alexander, Belmont
Channing Tapley, Hebron Christian
Jessie Bryant, Noxubee County
Ben Marchbanks, Caledonia

Armontie Price, Baldwyn
Colten Bramlett, Pontotoc
Steele Liles, Calhoun City
Pat Gardner, Bruce
Ashton Wedel, Tupelo
Ben McCutchen, Booneville
Daniel Hughes, French Camp
James Walter, Ripley
TT Person, Starkville
Chris Rucker, Mooreville

Comment on this Story

Related News