0 Comments for this article

MONTGOMERY, Ala. (WCBI) — For the first time in 30 years, Alabama has added a new class to their athletics system.

The AHSAA voted unanimously on Wednesday morning to adopt a new 7-classification system for championship play for the next two school years beginning during the 2014-15 school year. ahsaa

The new Class 7A will feature the 32 largest high schools in the state of Alabama. It will be for every sport officiated by the AHSAA.

Some of the notable schools that will compete in Class 7A athletics: Auburn, Prattville, Hoover, Spain Park, Vestavia Hills, Bob Jones, and Tuscaloosa County.

The remaining schools were divided evenly through 1A-6A.

AHSAA Executive Director Steve Savarese said “The seven-class system allow the AHSAA to group schools more closely in enrollment, also reduces the need for nine-team regions in football and has created fewer five-team areas in sports like basketball, volleyball, baseball and softball.”

The AHSAA had a 6-classification system since 1984, a 4-classification system from 1964 to 1983 and a 2-classification system from 1947 to 1964.

Here are the Alabama schools in the WCBI viewing area and their class designation beginning in 2014-15 school year:

Fayette County: 4A
Hamilton: 4A
Aliceville: 3A
Gordo: 3A
Lamar County: 3A
Pickens County: 2A
Sulligent: 2A
Red Bay: 2A
Hackleburg: 1A
Marion County: 1A
South Lamar: 1A
Berry: 1A

The view the full reclassification grid for each AHSAA sport, visit here: http://www.ahsaa.com/Sports/Alignments201416/tabid/4601/Default.aspx

Comment on this Story

Related News

17 hours ago
0 Comments for this article
Starkville Family Escapes Fiery Flames
Read More»
17 hours ago
0 Comments for this article
VIDEO: MSU Athletes Give Back To Their Community
Read More»
17 hours ago
0 Comments for this article
VIDEO: Future Paralegals Get A Feel Of The Courtroom
Read More»