Starkville’s Gabe Myles and Jamie Mitchell Named Class 5A Player and Coach of the Year

COLUMBUS, Miss. (WCBI) — After taking home the Class 5A State Title, Starkville’s leader at quarterback comes home with even more hardware.

Starkville quarterback Gabe Myles earns not only the 5A State Championship but also the 5A Offensive Player of the Year.

Mississippi State commit Gabe Myles has been named Class 5A Offensive Player of the Year by the MHSAA coaches. His head coach, Jamie Mitchell, also earned 5A Coach of the Year honors.

Here is the full Class 5A All-State team selected by the MHSAA coaches:

Class 5A All-State Team

Offensive Player of the Year: Gabe Myles, Starkville

Defensive Player of the Year: Xavier Pegues, Oxford

Coach of the Year: Jamie Mitchell, Starkville

First Team All-State Offense

QB – Parker Adamson, Oxford, Sr.

FB – Desmond Taylor, Picayune, Sr.

RB – Preston Dedeaux, Picayune, Jr.; Aeris Williams, West Point, Jr.

WR – Quatavius Smithm McComb, Sr.; A.J . Hunt, Saltillo, Sr.

TE – Terrence Minor, West Point, Sr.

OT – Jawan Johnson, Starkville, Sr; Devin Farrior, Wayne County, Sr.

OG – Joey Reynolds, Picayune, Sr.; Blase Benoit, Pearl River Central, Sr.

C- Clifton Smith, Oxford, Sr.

K – Grant Warren, Pascagoula, Sr.

Athlete – Tez Lane, West Point, Sr.


First Team All-State Defense

DE – Jabori Poole, Brookhaven, Sr.; Ken Edwards, Neshoba Central, Jr;

DT – Freddie Reed, West Point, Sr.; Joel Forrester, Oxford, Sr. ;

ILB – Mario Virges, West Point, Sr.; Keena Fuga, Wayne County, Sr.

OLB – Adam Peronne, Pearl River Central, Sr.; Evan Osborne, Pearl, Sr.

CB- Brandon Knight, Pearl, Sr.; Xavier Marion, Ridgeland, Jr.

SS- Brandon Rien, Pascagoula, Sr.

FS- Javonte Davis, Starkville, Sr.

P – Matthew Turcotte, Neshoba Central, Jr.

KR – Chad Cook, Long Beach, Sr.

LS – Bobby Daggett, Pascagoula, Sr.


Second Team All-State Offense

QB – Stacey Warren, Pascagoula, Sr.

FB – Stanley Higgins, Starkville, Sr.

RB – Doug Cross, Picayune, Sr. ; Preston Baker, Starkville, Sr.

WR – Breland Hoye, Pascagoula, Sr.; Fred Trevillion, Brookhaven, Jr.

TE – Tanner Bryan, Picayune, Sr.

OT – Deronte Bouldin, Canton, Sr.; Harry Godwin, Pearl River Central, Jr.

OG – Rod Taylor, Callaway, Jr.; Jawan Collins, Pascagoula, Jr.

C- Jacob Feely, Picayune, Sr.

K – Jowan Dettio, Pearl River Central, Jr.

ATH – Greg Miller, Wayne County, Sr.


Second Team All-State Defense

DE – Xavier  Thigpen, West Jones, Sr.; Ed Brown, West Point, Sr.

DT – Kentrell Mayfield, Wayne County, Sr.; Darrell Vanerson, McComb, Sr.

ILB – Brandon Padgett, Pearl River Central, Sr.; Thomas McCool, Neshoba Central, Sr.

OLB – Keyshawn Simmons, Ridgeland, So.; David Fair, Starkville, Sr.

CB- Jacoby Smith, Starkville, Jr.; Devonte Dillion, McComb, Sr.

SS –  Shaundrick Russell, Neshoba Central, Sr.

FS – Conrey Meagher, Oxford, Jr.

P- Eric Lemus, West Point, Sr.

KR – Bryce Williams, Ridgeland, Sr.

LS – Chadwick Lamar, Oxford, Jr.

Categories: High School Sports, Local Sports

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *