0 Comments for this article

STARKVILLE, Miss. (WCBI/Clarion-Ledger) — Mississippi State cornerback Johnthan Banks is one step closer to becoming a consensus All-American.

(Spruce Derden/US Presswire)
Mississippi State’s Johnthan Banks earned Second Team All-American honors from the Associated Press on Tuesday.

The senior was named a second-team member of the Associated Press’ All-America team today.

Banks is the third MSU player in as many years to be named an All-American by the AP, joining offensive tackle Derek Sherrod (second team, 2010) and defensive tackle Fletcher Cox (third team, 2011).

Banks has four interceptions this season (third in the SEC) and is tied with Walt Harris for the school record with 16 picks in his career. Banks was named a first-team member of the Walter Camp Foundation’s All-America team last week.

Twenty-two players represent the SEC on the three-team list this season, including nine on the first team.

MSU (8-4) plays No. 21 Northwestern (9-3) in the Gator Bowl on Jan. 1.



Quarterback — Johnny Manziel, redshirt freshman, Texas A&M.
Running backs — Montee Ball, senior, 5-11, 215, Wisconsin; Ka’Deem Carey, sophomore, 5-10, 197, Arizona.
Tackles — Luke Joeckel, junior, 6-6, 310, Texas A&M; Taylor Lewan, junior, 6-8, 309, Michigan.
Guards — Chance Warmack, senior, 6-3, 320, Alabama; Jonathan Cooper, senior, 6-3, 295, North Carolina.
Center — Barrett Jones, senior, 6-5, 302, Alabama.
Tight end — Zach Ertz, senior, 6-6, 252, Stanford.
Receivers — Marqise Lee, sophomore, 6-0, 195, Southern California; Terrance Williams, senior, 6-2, 205, Baylor.
All-purpose player — Tavon Austin, senior, 5-9, 171, West Virginia.
Kicker — Cairo Santos, junior, 5-8, 160, Tulane.

Ends — Jadeveon Clowney, sophomore, 6-6, 256, South Carolina; Bjoern Werner, junior, 6-4, 255, Florida State.
Tackles — Star Lotulelei, senior, 6-4, 320, Utah; Will Sutton, junior, 6-1, 267, Arizona State.
Linebackers — Manti Te’o, senior, 6-2, 255, Notre Dame; Jarvis Jones, junior, 6-3, 241, Georgia; C.J. Mosley, junior, 6-2, 232, Alabama.
Cornerbacks — Dee Milliner, junior, 6-1, 199, Alabama; Jordan Poyer, sophomore, 6-0, 172, Oregon State.
Safeties — Phillip Thomas, senior, 6-1, 215, Fresno State; Matt Elam, junior, 5-10, 202, Florida.
Punter — Ryan Allen, senior, 6-2, 215, Louisiana Tech.



Quarterback — Collin Klein, senior, Kansas State.
Running backs — Kenjon Barner, senior, Oregon; Johnathan Franklin, senior, UCLA.
Tackles — D.J. Fluker, junior, Alabama; David Yankey, junior, Stanford.
Guards — Spencer Long, junior, Nebraska; Cyril Richardson, junior, Baylor.
Center — Dalton Freeman, senior, Clemson.
Tight end — Tyler Eifert, senior, Notre Dame.
Receivers — Stedman Bailey, junior, West Virginia; Quinton Patton, senior, Louisiana Tech.
All-purpose player — Jordan Lynch, junior, Northern Illinois.
Kicker — Dustin Hopkins, senior, Florida State.

Ends — Damontre Moore, junior, Texas A&M; Stephon Tuitt, sophomore, Notre Dame.
Tackles — Johnathan Hankins, junior, Ohio State; Kawann Short, senior, Purdue.
Linebackers — Kevin Minter, junior, LSU; Anthony Barr, junior, UCLA; Arthur Brown, senior, Kansas State.
Cornerbacks — Johnthan Banks, senior, Mississippi State; Bradley Roby, sophomore, Ohio State.
Safeties — Eric Reid, junior, LSU; Tony Jefferson, junior, Oklahoma.
Punter — Riley Stephenson, senior, BYU.



Quarterback — A.J. McCarron, junior, Alabama.
Running backs — Stefphon Jefferson, junior, Nevada; Giovani Bernard, sophomore, North Carolina.
Tackles — Jake Matthews, junior, Texas A&M; Eric Fisher, senior, Central Michigan.
Guards — Larry Warford, senior, Kentucky; Xavier Su’a-Filo, sophomore, UCLA.
Center — Braxston Cave, senior, Notre Dame.
Tight end — Austin Seferian-Jenkins, sophomore, Washington.
Receivers — DeAndre Hopkins, junior, Clemson; Cobi Hamilton, senior, Arkansas.
All-purpose player — Dri Archer, junior, Kent State.
Kicker — Caleb Sturgis, senior, Florida.

Ends — John Simon, senior, Ohio State; Sam Montgomery, junior, LSU.
Tackles — Shariff Floyd, junior, Florida; Chris Jones, senior, Bowling Green.
Linebackers — Khaseem Greene, senior, Rutgers; Trent Murphy, senior, Stanford; Kyle Van Noy, junior, BYU.
Cornerbacks — Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, sophomore, Oregon; Jason Verrett, junior, TCU.
Safeties — Ed Reynolds, junior, Stanford; Ty Zimmerman, junior, Kansas State.
Punter — Kyle Christy, sophomore, Florida.

Comment on this Story

Related News