MHSAA Football Update

All games broadcast on Mississippi Public BroadcastingToday Class 3A

Hazlehurst 21, Charleston 20

Cain leads Hazlehurst over Charleston 21-20

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) — Demetrius Cain rushed for 138 yards on 17 carries with a touchdown as Halzehurst beat Charleston 21-20 Saturday to claim the MHSAA Class 3A state championship.

It is the Indians first state title since 2005 and second in school history.

Dycelious Reese scored the game-winning touchdown on a 3-yard fumble return with 4:21 left in fourth quarter. Kenneth Coleman had a 6-yard rushing touchdown for Hazlehurst. Cain scored on a 50-yard run in the first quarter for the Indians (16-0).

Kameron Myers had 81 yards receiving and scored on a 61-yard touchdown pass in the first quarter. Calwaun Street had a 1-yard rushing touchdown and Deshadrick Truly scored on a 78-yard kickoff return for the Tigers (14-2).

Class 4A

Noxubee County 16, Greene County 6

Unbeaten Noxubee County defeats Greene County 16-6

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) — Darrell Robinson rushed for 176 yards on 37 carries with a touchdown to lift Noxubee County to a 16-6 victory over Greene County on Saturday for the MHSAA Class 4A state championship.

It was the Tigers’ second state championship and first since 2008.

Noxubee County, ranked No. 2 in Super 10 and No. 1 in 4A, joins Bassfield, Hazlehurst and Lafayette in finishing the season 16-0.

Fernando Phillips had a 12-yard touchdown run in the first quarter. Robinson scored on a 1-yard run in the fourth to finish the season with 50 touchdowns.

Noxubee County’s defense held Greene County to just 121 yards total offense and nine first downs.

Lamarcus Franks had a 4-yard touchdown run for Greene County (10-5).

Class 5A

Starkville vs. Pascagoula, 7 p.m.


Stringer 20, French Camp 17

Class 2A

Bassfield 35, Eupora 0

Class 6A

South Panola 31, Brandon 23

Read more: – MHSAA Football Championship Scores December 1 2012

Categories: High School Sports, Local Sports, Top Sports Story

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *