New Hope, Kossuth Win State Baseball Titles

PEARL, Miss. (WCBI Sports) – The New Hope and Kossuth baseball teams have won their respective 2013 MHSAA championships.

Kossuth defeated Sumrall in both games in Pearl, Miss. including a 4-0 win Friday to take the 3A title. The Aggies took down Winona, Mooreville and Independence before topping Sumrall on their way to their first state title in school history.

New Hope won its first state championship since 2003 with a 3-2 win against Pascagoula Saturday. The Trojans defeated Lake Cormorant, Yazoo City, Ridgeland and Hernando before beating Pascagoula two games to one for the 5A title.

Greenville St. Joe’s defeated Nanih Waiya in 1A, East Union fell to Taylorsville in the 2A title series and Lewisburg is the 4A champion.

To see the final scores from the series, click here.

Categories: High School Sports, Local Sports, Top Sports Story

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.