Renfroe Receives Ferriss Award

JACKSON, Miss. (WCBI Sports/MSU Athletics) – Mississippi State junior outfielder Hunter Renfroe has been named the recipient of the 2013 C Spire Ferriss Trophy, presented annually to the top collegiate baseball player in the state of Mississippi. The Crystal Springs, Miss., native, was one of five finalists for the award, which was presented the award Monday afternoon during ceremonies at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum in Jackson, Miss.

The other finalists were Ole Miss’ Bobby Wahl and Stuart Turner, Southern Miss’ Andrew Pierce and Delta State’s John Branstetter.

The power-hitting Renfroe becomes the fourth Mississippi State player to receive the award. Shortstop Thomas Berkery and catcher Ed Easley received the award in back-to-back years in 2006 and 2007, while pitcher Chris Stratton received the Ferriss Trophy last year.

Renfroe finished the 2013 regular season as the SEC’s leader with 15 home runs and begins postseason competition at the Southeastern Conference Tournament Tuesday night in Hoover, Ala., bested four other finalists to become the 10th winner of the Ferriss Trophy. The other finalists for the award include Delta State pitcher John Branstetter, Southern Miss pitcher Andrew Pierce, and Ole Miss pitcher/catching duo Stuart Turner and Bobby Wahl.

“It’s the greatest honor of my baseball career,” said Renfroe afterwards. “It was an honor to be on the platform with these other talented players and such a thrill to win an award named after Coach Ferriss.”

The trophy’s namesake, former Mississippi State and Boston Red Sox hall of fame pitcher and legendary Delta State baseball coach Dave “Boo” Ferriss, was on hand at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum for Monday’s presentation.

Renfroe and his Mississippi State teammates begin their postseason run Tuesday night in Hoover, Ala., taking on the Missouri Tigers in the final game of the opening round of the 37th annual SEC Baseball Tournament.

A .293 career hitter, Renfroe sports a league-best .691 slugging percentage and also ranks among the SEC leaders in batting average (.362), on-base percentage (.459), RBI (51), hits (68), runs scored (48) and total bases (130).

The Bulldog outfielder is also a semi-finalist for both USA Baseball’s Golden Spikes Award and the NCBWA’s Dick Howser Trophy, given to the nation’s top collegiate player.

Categories: College Sports, Local Sports

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *