SEC Announces Legends Class


BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (WCBI Sports) – There are many, many legendary players that have played in the SEC over the years. Each SEC school is honored with the selection of one former player today, as part of the annual SEC Legends Class. The alumni will be honored prior to the SEC Championship game Dec. 7 in Atlanta, Ga.

From Mississippi State, defensive lineman Glen Collins is selected. The All-American and All-SEC standout played from 1978-81. He was a member of the 1980 team that upset top-ranked Alabama in the historic 6-3 game. He was drafted in the first round by the Bengals and spent seven seasons in the NFL.

- Advertisement -

For Ole Miss, Jeff Herrod is selected. He was the Rebels’ linebacker from 1984-87. He’s the Ole Miss all-time leader in tackles… and spent 11 years in the NFL, mostly with the Colts.

From Alabama, it’s College Football Hall of Fame inductee Marty Lyons. The defensive lineman played from 1976-78. He was an All-American, All-SEC selection and a key player in the famous goal line stand in the 1979 Sugar Bowl. Lyons spent 11 seasons in the NFL, mostly with the Jets.

Here’s the full SEC Legends Class list for this year.

Alabama, Marty Lyons
Arkansas, Wayne Martin
Auburn, Frank Sanders
Florida, Wes Chandler
Georgia, Tim Worley
Kentucky, Wilbur Hackett
LSU, Kevin Faulk
Mississippi State, Glen Collins
Missouri, Phil Bradley
Ole Miss, Jeff Herrod
South Carolina, Max Runager
Tennessee, Inky Johnson
Texas A&M, Jimmy Williams