0 Comments for this article

The 2013 SEC baseball tournament begins Tuesday. Games return to Hoover, Ala. for the 16th-straight year. This season, however, there number of teams has expanded to 12 and games will be played under a new format.

The top four teams receive a first-round bye: Vanderbilt, LSU, Arkansas and South Carolina. Vanderbilt earns the No. 1 seed as the division champion with the highest overall winning percentage. LSU is the No. 2 seed as the other division champion. Seeds three and lower are determined by conference record and are not separated by division.

The first-round games will be single-elimination style and the teams that advance will follow a double-elimination format. The first-round, single-elimination games return to the Tournament for the first time since 1997.

Mississippi State earns the No. 5 seed after winning two of three games against South Carolina this weekend. The Bulldogs play No. 12 Missouri Tuesday at 7 p.m. at Hoover Metropolitan Stadium. State would play No. 4 South Carolina Wednesday with a win.

Ole Miss moves up to the No. 6 after avoiding a sweep at LSU Saturday. The Rebels matchup with No. 11 Kentucky Tuesday at 9:30 a.m. If the Rebels advance, they’ll play No. 3 Arkansas Wednesday.

Alabama managed to take one game from Vanderbilt in the Tide’s weekend series. Alabama faces rival Auburn at noon Tuesday. The Crimson Tide would play No. 2 LSU Wednesday if they win.

Vanderbilt enters as many experts’ favorite to win it all. Vanderbilt won a record 26 SEC games, breaking the South Carolina’s 25 wins in 2000. The Commodores lead the SEC in batting average and Tony Kemp leads the conference himself in hitting.

Comment on this Story

Related News