Video: Ole Miss’ A.J. Brown Wins 2017 Conerly Trophy

(Video Courtesy: WJTV/Jackson)

JACKSON, Miss. (WCBI/Ole Miss Athletics) — Ole Miss wide receiver A.J. Brown won the 2017 C Spire Conerly Trophy Tuesday night as Mississippi’s most outstanding college football player this season.

Now in its 22nd year, the C Spire Conerly Trophy is named after the late Charlie Conerly – the only football inductee in the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame who was an All-American at a Mississippi university, an NFL rookie of the year and NFL All-Pro member and quarterbacked a team to a world championship.

Brown, a sophomore from Starkville, Mississippi, finished the 2017 season as the Ole Miss single-season record-holder in receiving yards (1,252) and tied for the top spot in receiving touchdowns (11). He leads the SEC and ranks sixth nationally in receiving yards per game (104.3).

His six 100-yard receiving games is tied for best in a single season, equaling Laquon Treadwell’s mark in 2015. Brown finished third on the single-season record charts in receptions (75).

Brown becomes the seventh Rebel, eighth time overall, to win the prestigious award. It also marks the first time Ole Miss has won the award in back-to-back seasons.

The six former Rebels to win the Conerly Trophy include: Stewart Patridge (1997), Deuce McAllister (1999), Eli Manning (2001, 2003), Patrick Willis (2006), Bo Wallace (2012) and Evan Engram (2016).

He beat out nine other finalists, representing each of the 10 football-playing universities and colleges in the state. Other finalists were Alcorn State RB De’Lance Turner, Belhaven QB Hunter McEachern, Delta State RB Chris Robinson, Jackson State LB Shawn Bishop, Millsaps LB Jacob Kendall, Mississippi College DB Chris Manning, Mississippi State QB Nick Fitzgerald, Mississippi Valley State DB Mark Pegues and Southern Miss RB Ito Smith.

2017 – A.J. Brown, WR – Ole Miss
2016 – Evan Engram, TE – Ole Miss
2015 – Dak Prescott, QB – Mississippi State
2014 – Dak Prescott, QB – Mississippi State
2013 – Gabe Jackson, OL – Mississippi State
2012 – Bo Wallace, QB – Ole Miss
2011 – Austin Davis, QB – Southern Miss
2010 – Chris White, LB – Mississippi State
2009 – Anthony Dixon, RB – Mississippi State
2008 – Juan Joseph, QB – Millsaps
2007 – Damion Fletcher, RB – Southern Miss
2006 – Patrick Willis, LB – Ole Miss
2005 – Jerious Norwood, RB – Mississippi State
2004 – Michael Boley, LB – Southern Miss
2003 – Eli Manning, QB – Ole Miss
2002 – Rod Davis, LB – Southern Miss
2001 – Eli Manning, QB – Ole Miss
2000 – Josh Bright, QB – Delta State
1999 – Deuce McAllister, RB – Ole Miss
1998 – J.J. Johnson, RB – Mississippi State
1997 – Stewart Patridge, QB – Ole Miss
1996 – Tregnel Thomas, RB – Delta State

Categories: College Sports, Local Sports

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *