Area Residents Earn State Volunteer Awards

Volunteer Mississippi, in coordination with the Office of the Governor and First Lady Deborah Bryant, Honorary Chair of the Volunteer Mississippi Board of Commissioners, is pleased to announce the 2013 Governor’s Initiative for Volunteer Excellence (GIVE) Award honorees. The GIVE Awards honor individuals and groups who positively impact the state of Mississippi through their significant volunteer efforts. These esteemed community leaders’ stories serve as inspiration for National Volunteer Week, April 21-27, 2013.

2013 Slate of Honorees

Mary Tell – Biloxi

The Marsha Meeks Kelly Award For Lifetime Achievement in Volunteer Service

John W. Armstrong – Long Beach

Outstanding Service by a National Service Participant

Kay Bain – Tupelo

Outstanding Achievement by a Media Personality

Beverly J. Hammett – Starkville

Outstanding Service in Disabilities Advocacy

Reade Heredia – Columbus

Outstanding Service in Youth Leadership

Dr. M. Edward Ivancic – Tupelo

Outstanding Achievement in Healthcare Initiatives

Mary Patton-Jarrett – Oxford

Outstanding Service by a Faith-Based Volunteer

Mayor Chip Johnson – Hernando

Outstanding Service by a Public Servant

Donna B. Langford – Hattiesburg

Outstanding Humanitarian Service

Holly Powell Lange – Jackson

Outstanding Achievement in Servant Leadership

Bob & Patt Lowrance – Jackson

Outstanding Achievement in Wildlife Stewardship

Mary Margaret Saulters – Oxford

Outstanding Achievement by a College Student

The Meridian Family Of Stations – Meridian

Outstanding Community Outreach by a Media Organization

Shaggy’s Waterfront Restaurants – Pass Christian

Outstanding Business Community Outreach

The Commission and staff of Volunteer Mississippi congratulates these individuals and groups for their exemplary service to their communities, and will celebrate their achievements at a luncheon held in their honor April 22 at the Mississippi Museum of Art in downtown Jackson.

Categories: Local News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *