0 Comments for this article

Fifteen Northeast Mississippi school districts are among 38 statewide honored for their performance on state tests last spring.

The Mississippi School Boards association awarded the districts Lighthouse Awards during ceremonies today in Jackson. Lantern Awards were presented to districts that ranked as high-performing districts and had no schools that ranked lower than successful.

Districts that received the awards included Amory, Booneville, Choctaw County, Clay County, Corinth, Itawamba County, Kosciusko, Monroe County, New Albany, Oxford, Pontotoc City, Pontotoc County, Tishomingo County, Tupelo, and Union County.

In addition to the Lantern Award, Clay County also received the Torch Award for being a district with 90 percent free and reduced lunch while still having a high-performing school.

Related News