Video: Columbus Names Teacher of the Year

[bitsontherun fFMgJGJl]

COLUMBUS, Miss. – Melanie Ford, Health Sciences & Medical Professions teacher at McKellar Technology Center, was named the 2012-2013 Columbus Municipal School District Teacher of the Year.

This morning during a surprise presentation, Melanie was presented flowers, balloons, hugs and many congratulations from Dr. Martha Liddell, Superintendent, Mayor Robert Smith, CMSD Board of Trustee Members and CMSD Management Team members.

Melanie has been working at McKellar since 2001. Prior to becoming an educator in 2001, she worked as a Registered Nurse since 1996. She continues to work as a RN at Baptist Memorial Hospital Golden Triangle in Columbus, Miss.

Besides from being a National Board Certified teacher, Melanie has lead the Health Sciences students to the top of class with her students scoring in the top ten percentile in the state on the statewide comprehensive Career Planning and Assessment System test (CPAS) since she began teaching in 2001. For the past five years, they have placed either in the top two or three. In the spring of 2012, her students’ scores were the number one scores in the state of Mississippi with every one of her students placing advanced and one receiving a perfect score.

Besides her passion for teaching in the classroom, Melanie is also a leader in her community. She is a member of Fairview Baptist Church where she teaches the sixth grade “Girls in Action” class. She was also selected by the Mississippi Community College Consortium to be a lead teacher in the Math in Career and Technical Education program.

Melanie states that her philosophy of teaching is evolving, but has always been centered around the basic principle that everyone can learn. She states, “I feel that the most important aspect of my teaching philosophy is that we must not only teach facts and skills, and allow students to feel success, but we must also teach students how to learn.” She sums up her total teaching experience thus far by saying, “when my students achieve success, then I achieve success.”

The Columbus Schools are also excited to announce the following educators who were selected 2012-2013 Teacher of the Year at their respective school: Tracey Agerton – Fairview Elementary School, Evans Dawson – Cook Elementary School, Erica Lewis – Sale Elementary School, Lucy McKellar – Columbus Middle School, Kimberly Musselman – Franklin Elementary School, Sarah Oswalt – Columbus High School, Talecia Scott – Stokes-Beard Elementary School, Kandra Wilkins – Columbus Alternative School.

Categories: Local News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *