Dana McLean expected to win Mississippi House of Representative seat


MISSISSIPPI (WCBI) – After more than two decades in the Mississippi House of Representatives, it appears Jeff Smith will lose his seat.

Dana Underwood McLean won the vote totals in Lowndes and Monroe Counties.

- Advertisement -

Affidavits were still being counted Wednesday morning. However, it’s expected those ballots will not make the 162 vote difference.

McLean’s apparent victory is one of the biggest political upsets in the state.

Smith was first elected in 1992.

McLean said her top priority in the state House will be education.

For now, she will celebrate the win.

“Well, I’m just thrilled! I’m excited about the future and what I can do for the state and what I can do for our district. I commend Representative Smith for all that he has done for us, and I’m just humbled by the chance to be able to work for us and serve. And, I’m just ready to get started,” said McLean.

If certified as the winner, McLean would be sworn-in when lawmakers return to Jackson in January.