0 Comments for this article

Samantha Ellzey of Starkville accepts the Microbiology Award from English instructor Marilyn Ford, wife of microbiology instructor Eric Ford, at the East Mississippi Community College Golden Triangle campus Awards program Thursday.

MAYHEW – East Mississippi Community College recognized outstanding students April 11 during its annual Golden Triangle campus Awards Day program. Award winners were chosen by instructors as exemplary students.

Dr. Paul Miller is vice president of the Golden Triangle campus.

“Every year, we take an afternoon to recognize students whose hard work, effort and dedication has made them the best of the best in academic and career-technical classes,” Miller said.

“One of the things that makes Awards Day special is that you see the personal connections between our instructors and students. Instructors announce the names of their award recipients and, for some of them, that’s not enough. Some instructors also tell a story.

“They may tell the audience about a young man who’s supporting a family, who works at night to make ends meet. They’ll tell you about a student who, despite setbacks, is always on time and prepared, and sets an example for her classmates. Those are the moments when you realize how much it matters to students that someone noticed their struggles and appreciated how hard they worked. It’s more than just a certificate.”

Induction ceremonies for the EMCC Golden Triangle campus chapters of the National Technical Honor Society and Phi Theta Kappa were also held April 11.

Here’s a look at the award recipients, their home towns and the areas for which they were recognized:


Gabriela Balardo (Columbus) – Outstanding Freshman Columbus Air Force Base Extension

Dale Brand (West Point) – Automotive Services Technology

William Bryan (West Point) – British Literature

Lydia Buckner (Brandon) – Design

Johnathan Carney (Starkville) – Welding and Metal Fabrication

Cynthia Carter (Caledonia) – Outstanding Sophomore CAFB

Matthew Chandler (Columbus) – Syzygy Fiction Award

Blakney Clark (Caledonia) – Psychology

Lana Craig (West Point) – Painting

Jordan Dean (Starkville) – Mathematics-Calculus, Physics, Organic Chemistry

Daniel Dunaway (Natchez) – Mathematics

Lauren Duncan (Aberdeen) – Drawing

Samantha Ellzey (Starkville) – Microbiology

Benjamin Elmore (Starkville) – Music Appreciation

Yamaiky Gamez (Starkville) – Speech

Isabelle Gerard (Columbus) – Ceramics, Bill Lauderdale Art Award of Excellence, Syzygy Painting Award

Quintin Hall (Starkville) – Hotel & Restaurant Management

Blake Hamric (Starkville) – Welding and Fabrication Technology

Joey Hansford (Starkville) – Culinary Arts

Kelly Hartley (Greenwood Springs) – Health Care Data Technology

Jillian Hatcher (Columbus) – Theater

Kristen Hitt (Starkville) – Anatomy and Physiology

Kenneth Hulsey (Mathiston) – Italian

Will Jayroe (Starkville) – Principles of Biology

Melissa Jenkins (Columbus) – Office Systems Technology

Hunter Johnson (Columbus) – Economics

Stephen Joiner (Columbus) – English Composition I

Daniel Jolly (Columbus) – Industrial Electricity

Jeffrey Jones (Starkville) – Computer Networking Technology

Sayanora Jones (Columbus) – Spanish

Stephanie Keeton (Ackerman) – World Civilization

Kimberly King (Louisville) – Cosmetology

Monica Koehn (Starkville) – Banking & Finance Technology

Marlon Kyles (Steens) – Precision Manufacturing

Tim Lamb (Eupora) – Automotive Services Technology

George Lott (West Point) – Human Growth and Development, Western Civilization

Kenneth McCulloch (Eupora) – Syzygy Poetry Award

Jordan Miller (Columbus) – Syzygy Drawing Award

Sarah Pepper (Canton) – Statistics, English Composition II

Frederick Price (Columbus) – Business and Marketing Technology

Thomas Quinn (Columbus) – Chemistry

Katie Riehle (Starkville) – Marriage and Family

Charles Salazar (Caledonia) – Creative Writing, Syzygy Betty Killebrew Literary Award of Excellence

Shelby Sheedy (French Camp) – Precision Manufacturing

Michelle Smith (Crawford) – Honors Composition

Benjamin Stephens (Columbus) – American Literature, American History, Syzygy Drama Award, William Winter Scholar

Adam Suber (Ackerman) – Electronics

Brittany Thomas (West Point) – Art Appreciation

John Tomlinson (Holly Springs) – Accounting

Vivian Walker (Louisville) – Criminal Justice

Ben Williams (Columbus) – Electrical Technology

Michal Williams (Columbus) – Syzygy Photography Award

Heath Wylie (Hernando) – Biology

Thaddeus Zant (Steens) – Art

Comment on this Story

Related News

5 mins ago
0 Comments for this article
Man Steals Taser During Arrest
Read More»
43 mins ago
0 Comments for this article
Different Type Of Black Friday Offering
Read More»
2 hours ago
0 Comments for this article
More Sunshine Through Thanksgiving
Read More»