EMCC Recognizes Student Achievement at Scooba Awards Day

EMCC, Scooba Awards Day

Several students won three or more academic awards at East Mississippi Community College’s Scooba Awards Day ceremony. In the center, Na’Kasha Williams of Brooksville and Jonathan Wiggins of DeKalb pose for a photo with some of the instructors who presented them with awards, from left, Louis Mullins, Tammy Malachowski, Marianne Stuart and Melanie Moody. Na’Kasha Williams won the awards for American History II, Child Psychology and Marriage and Family. Jonathan Wiggins won the awards for Chemistry II, General Biology II, Honors English Composition and Western Civilization I. Katherine Jones of Louisville, not pictured, also won three awards, for General Biology I, Western Civilization II and Music Theater Workshop.

SCOOBA, Miss. (Press Release) — East Mississippi Community College’s Scooba campus hosted its annual Awards Day on April 24 to recognize outstanding students from its academic and career-technical programs.

“Today, it is evident by the awards you have received that each of you possesses the values to work hard, go beyond what is expected and achieve excellence,” said Associate Dean of Instruction James Rush.

“I challenge each of you to keep those values, as they will be essential in your next steps in life. As you continue on your path of educational advancement, there will be new challenges. I am confident that each you will be up for the task. As you go through new challenges, I would like you to think of a quote by Vivian Green, ‘Life isn’t about waiting for the storm to pass … it’s about learning to dance in the rain.’”

Rush also thanked EMCC’s faculty and staff for their work, and family members in attendance for supporting and encouraging the efforts of their students.
Here’s a look at the students who received awards, their home towns and the areas for which they were recognized:

  • Claire Blackwell (Macon) – Reflection Singers
  • Alexandria Brooks (Meridian) – Sociology
  • Kylie Brown (Steens) – Drawing
  • Eyron Bryant (Maben) – Stellar Award, 2nd place fall semester
  • Arian Burns (Columbus) – Design
  • Mary Burns (Philadelphia) – College Algebra
  • Deanna Burt (Philadelphia) – British Literature
  • Chekita Cannon (Scooba) – Health Care Assistant
  • Logan Chapman (Ludowici, Ga.) – Jazz Band, Marching Band
  • James Chavez (Quitman) – Welding
  • Addison Cherry (Louisville) – Sophomore Ophthalmic
  • Shelton Cole (Meridian) – Theatre Appreciation
  • Hannah Collins (Pontotoc) – Rodeo Scholar-Athlete
  • Katie Cumberland (Brooksville) – Psychology
  • MacKenzie Davidson (Vicksburg) – Engineering Physics
  • Corey Dawkins (Brooksville) – Softball Scholar-Athlete
  • Blake Edwards (Carthage) – Stellar Award, 5th place fall semester
  • Steven Eubanks (Porterville) – 3D Design
  • Jaylon Fair (Okolona) – Stellar Award, 3rd place spring semester
  • Jacob Feeley (Picayune) – Football Scholar-Athlete, Speech
  • Meri Morgan Fortune (Batesville) – Anatomy & Physiology I
  • Eric Gambrell (Meridian) – Choir
  • Chauncey Goodman (Canton) – Stellar Award, 1st place spring semester
  • Jatesha Gibbs (Porterville) – Art History
  • Robard Gibson (West Point) – Stellar Award, 4th place spring semester
  • Mallory Griffith (McCool) – Choir
  • Jacob Harmon (Houston) – Basic Electrical Lineman
  • Sarah Harris (Meridian) – Chemistry I
  • Krissy Holmes (Scooba) – English Composition II
  • Katherine Jones (Louisville) – General Biology I, Music Theater Workshop, Western Civilization II
  • Marilyn Kelly (Pachuta) – Concert Band, Principles of Biology II
  • Diana Kirkpatrick (Aberdeen) – Freshman Ophthalmic
  • Clemmia Little (Macon) – Health Care Assistant
  • Tony Little (Martinsburg, W. Va.) – Reflection Singers
  • Sarah Lolly (Meridian) – Art Appreciation
  • Daniel Lott (Meridian) – William Winter Scholar Student
  • Jonathan Lowery (Louisville) – Rock Band
  • Freddrekious McClendon – Job Search Skills
  • Tyler McFarland (Clinton) – Painting
  • Chris McHann (Starkville) – College Algebra
  • Darren Miller (Macon) – American History I
  • Samuel Mingo (Philadelphia) – Special Studio, Syzygy Photography
  • Moneice Mitchell (Monroe, La.)– Ceramics
  • Brianna Moody (Philadelphia) – Stellar Award, 1st place fall semester
  • Zak O’Neill (Chunky) – Stellar Award, 5th place spring semester
  • Cruz Perea (Columbus) – Music Theater Workshop
  • Preston Perkins (Collinsville) – Prinicples of Biology I
  • Jasmine Reed (Columbus) – Exhibit Class
  • Annie Silver (Macon) – Creative Writing
  • Cody Simmons (Chunchula, Ala.) – Stellar Award, 2nd place spring semester
  • Drew Standland (Hattiesburg) – Baseball Scholar-Athlete
  • Kasey Stanfield (Columbus) – English Composition I
  • Lauren Stephens (Meridian) – Human Growth and Development
  • Jasmine Taylor (Columbus) – Pep Band
  • Katherine Timmons (Philadelphia) – Anatomy & Physiology II, Cheerleading Scholar-Athlete
  • Janay Townsel (Starkville) – Women’s Basketball Scholar-Athlete
  • Deshadrick Truly (Charleston) – Stellar Award, 3rd place fall semester
  • Dustin White (Crawford) – Forestry
  • Jonathan Wiggins (DeKalb) – Chemistry II, General Biology II, Honors English Composition, Western Civilization I
  • Jada Williams (Columbus) – Stellar Award, 4th place fall semester
  • Na’Kasha Williams (Brooksville) – American History II, Child Psychology, Marriage and Family
  • Avery Woodson (Waynesboro) – Men’s Basketball Scholar-Athlete

The Scooba Awards Day ceremony also included a number of activity-based recognitions:

Phi Theta Kappa: Co-presidents Aimee Winstead and Taylor Winstead ; officer team Morgan Corder, Rachel Clay, Meri Morgan Fortune, Kayla Barnett and Laura Elizabeth Hull.
Student Government Association: President Dante’ Sanders, Vice President Byron McCrary, Secretary Hanna Christopher, and Representatives at Large Rachel Clay, Rachel Salvaggio, Chayvontae’ Chapman, Daniel Lott, Jonathan Lowery, Lauren Stephens, Moneice Mitchell, Hope Taylor, Kate Timmons, Kayla Barnett, Payton Rogers, Mallory Griffith, Kailey Lavender, Morgan Corder and Nickie Owens

EMCC Student Ambassadors: Cory Adams, Kayla Barnett, Chayvontae’ Chapman, Colton Caver, Rachel Clay, Rachel Salvaggio, Byron McCrary, Dante’ Sanders, Jordan Jones, Whitney Lowe, Kristen Mitchell, Kate Timmons, Payton Rogers, Ashley Rhaly, Ashley Bradley, Daniel Lott, Beth Hull, Jonathan Lowery and Lauren Stephens
Class Favorites: Sophomore Byron McCrary, Freshman Megan Reynolds

Mr. and Miss EMCC: Dante’ Sanders, Morgan Corder

Who’s Who Among American Community College Students: Kayla Barnett, Deanna Elizabeth Burt, Kendal Carpenter, Colton Caver, Addison Cherry, Rachel Clay, Shelton Shaderion Cole, Hannah Grace Collins, Morgan Corder, Corey Elizabeth Dawkins, Meri Morgan Fortune, Evan Dale Grimes, Dane Guadagno, Charles Guyton, Sarah Ann Harris, Laura Elizabeth Hull, Angel Lachelle Johnson, Diana Lynn Kirkpatrick, Daniel Lott, Preston Cody Perkins, Anthony Terrell Reed, Susan Reynolds, Abby Roberts, Payton Rogers, Christopher Andrew Standland, Kate Timmons, Trent Norman Waddell, Thomas Walker and Darryl Avery Woodson

Categories: Local News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *