0 Comments for this article

Election day was three weeks ago but a handful of North Mississippi towns have failed to file certified returns with the Secretary of State’s office.

Most were small towns that didn’t have contested elections. The list includes Big Creek in Calhoun County, Hatley in Monroe County, Toccopola in Pontotoc County, Glen in Alcorn County and Dumas in Tippah County.

The state originally issued show cause orders against 47 towns that didn’t meet the June 11 deadline but that list is now down to just 18 statewide.

Related News