0 Comments for this article

The Mississippi Department of Transportation (MDOT) is honored to announce that the “William R. “Bill” Minor Memorial Highway” dedication ceremony has been scheduled for 10 a.m. on Tuesday, October 16 at the Eddie Lee Smith Multi-Purpose Building, 235 N. Memphis Street in Holly Springs. The public and media are invited to attend.

House Bill 98 designates and names a segment of U.S. Highway 78 as the William R. “Bill” Minor Memorial Highway. The segment of highway that is designated as U.S. Highway 78 will be redesignated as Interstate 22 beginning at the Marshall/DeSoto County line and extending to the Benton/Union County line. MDOT shall erect and maintain appropriate signs along and approaching this segment of U.S. Highway 78.

“Commissioner Minor was a great public servant,” said Northern District Transportation Commissioner Mike Tagert. “He played a vital role in assisting with the Highway 72 Four-Lane project. He was dedicated as a state senator and as a Transportation Commissioner. When citizens of Marshall County travel Highway 78, they will remember the statesman, Commissioner William R. “Bill” Minor, who worked diligently to meet the needs of the people of Mississippi and provide a safe transportation network.”

Born and raised in Benton County, William R. “Bill” Minor graduated from Hickory Flat High School and attended Northwest Community College. He joined his brother in establishing Minor Brothers Plumbing which grew into a chain of hardware stores in North Mississippi. Bill always had a passion for Marshall County and gave a lot of effort to bring improvement projects to the residents, primarily the four-laning of Highway 72.

Before being elected transportation commissioner, Minor served in the Senate for 20 years representing Marshall, Benton and DeSoto counties. He served as vice chairman and chairman of the Senate Highway Committee and helped orchestrate the passage of the 1987 Four-Lane Highway Program. He also chaired the committees on Finance and Public Utilities.

On this day we commemorate Bill Minor by designating part of future Interstate 22, beginning at the Marshall/Desoto county line and extending to the Benton/Union county line, as the “William R. ‘Bill’ Minor Memorial Highway.”

Comment on this Story

Related News