MDOT Takes Seven State Awards at AnnualPRism Ceremony

MDOT Awards

Pictured from left (back row): Billy Bob Sekul and King Ferguson, Media Production; Lauren Mashburn, Graphic Design; Lillie Butler, administrative assistant; Jason Scott and Michael Flood, Public Information; Selena Standifer, deputy director, Public Affairs; Jarrod Ravencraft, director, Public Affairs Director. Front row: Karen Philip, Litter Prevention; Cookie Leffler, Safe Routes to School; Sharon Akparanta, Map Sales; Christy Milbourne, Safety Education; Robert Pettit, Digital Media; Kenny Foote’, Public Information; Catherine Horn, Map Sales; Susan King, brand manager; and Glenn Smith, Media Production.

JACKSON, Miss. (Press Release) — The Mississippi Department of Transportation (MDOT) was recently honored during the 2014 PRism Awards at Lake Terrace Convention Center in Hattiesburg. The annual awards are hosted by the Public Relations Association of Mississippi (PRAM).

MDOT received the Judge’s Choice and a PRism Award for the “Don’t Trash Mississippi” Litter Prevention Campaign and received three Awards of Excellence for the “Myrtle the Turtle” Litter Prevention Video, the Safe Routes to School Program’s “Walk to School Month” Campaign and “Promoting Science Technology Education and Math (STEM) in Mississippi” Education Outreach Program. MDOT was awarded two Awards of Merit for the Work Zone Safety Billboard and “Think Safety” Education Program.

The PRism awards began in 2003 as a way to honor and recognize outstanding work in the field of public relations by professionals within the state of Mississippi. The awards are judged by professionals outside the geographical boundaries of the Southern Public Relations Federation in Alabama, Florida, Louisiana and Mississippi. A best of show is awarded as well as a judge’s choice. The highest honor goes to the PRism winners, followed by Awards of Excellence and Certificates of Achievement.

For more information, visit and

Categories: Local News, State News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *