Mississippi School Ratings Released

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) – Nineteen of Mississippi’s 146 school districts achieved the top score on an A-through-F grading scale for the 2014-15 school year, according to long-delayed ratings released Thursday.
However, some of those A-rated districts retained the top grade because of a waiver that let all districts choose between the score they earned in 2015 or a higher one they earned in one of the previous two years.

The waiver was allowed because Mississippi has been switching its teaching standards and tests.

Three districts – Corinth, Lamar County and Petal – had an A for 2014-15 and for the waiver score.

Forty-three districts had a B rating.

Fifty-four had a C.

Thirty had a D.

None had an F.
JACKSON, Miss. (AP) – The Mississippi Department of Education released information Thursday about how the state’s 146 school districts were rated in the 2014-15 academic year, using an A-to-F system.

Under a waiver system, schools that received a lower grade in 2014-15 than in one of the two previous years could keep the higher grade. The waivers were allowed because the state has been changing teaching standards and tests.

Six districts consolidated or closed after the 2013-14 school year: Benoit, Hinds Agricultural, Indianola, Mound Bayou, Oktibbeha County and Shaw. Of the six, only Oktibbeha County was rated for the 2014-15 report.

In this list, school districts are sorted by the official grade they received in 2014-15, which could include the waiver. The grade each received without the waiver is listed next to the district’s name.


A-RATED (19 districts)

Amory: B

Biloxi: B

Booneville: B

Clinton: C

Corinth: A

DeSoto County: B

Enterprise: C

Kosciusko: C

Lamar County: A

Long Beach: C

Madison County: B

Ocean Springs: B

Oxford: C

Pass Christian: C

Petal: A

Pontotoc: C

Rankin County: C

Union: C

Webster County: C


B-RATED (43 districts)

Alcorn County: C

Bay St. Louis-Waveland: C

Calhoun County: D

Choctaw County: C

Columbia: B

Forrest Agricultural: B

Forrest County: C

Franklin County: C

George County: C

Grenada: B

Gulfport: B

Hancock County: C

Harrison County: C

Itawamba County: C

Jackson County: C

Jones County: C

Lafayette County: B

Lauderdale County: C

Lincoln County: C

Lowndes County: C

Monroe County: C

Neshoba County: D

New Albany: C

Newton County: C

North Pike: C

North Tippah: D

Pascagoula: C

Pearl: C

Pearl River County: C

Pontotoc County: C

Poplarville: C

Prentiss County: C

Scott County: D

Senatobia: C

Smith County: C

South Tippah: C

Stone County: C

Tate County: D

Tishomingo County: C

Tupelo: C

Union County: B

West Jasper: C

Winona: C


C-RATED (54 districts)

Amite County: C

Attala County: D

Baldwyn: C

Benton County: C

Carroll County: D

Chickasaw County: C

Claiborne County: D

Clay County: F

Cleveland: D

Coahoma Agricultural: C

Coffeeville: C

Copiah County: D

Covington County: D

East Jasper: C

East Tallahatchie: D

Forest: D

Greene County: C

Hattiesburg: D

Hinds County: D

Hollandale: D

Holly Springs: D

Houston: C

Jefferson Davis County: D

Kemper County: D

Laurel: D

Lawrence County: C

Lee County: C

Leland: D

Louisville: D

Lumberton: C

Marion County: C

Marshall County: D

Montgomery County: C

Nettleton: C

North Panola: C

Okolona: C

Oktibbeha County: D

Perry County: D

Philadelphia: D

Picayune: C

Quitman County: C

Quitman: D

Richton: C

Simpson County: C

South Panola: C

South Pike: D

Starkville: D

Walthall County: D

Water Valley: C

Wayne County: C

West Point: C

Western Line: C

Wilkinson County: D

Yazoo County: D


D-RATED (30 districts)

Aberdeen: D

Brookhaven: D

Canton: D

Clarksdale: D

Coahoma County: D

Columbus: D

Durant: D

Greenville: D

Greenwood: D

Hazlehurst: D

Holmes County: D

Humphreys County: D

Jackson: D

Jefferson County: D

Leake County: D

Leflore County: D

McComb: D

Meridian: D

Moss Point: D

Natchez-Adams: D

Newton: D

North Bolivar: D

Noxubee County: D

South Delta: D

Sunflower County: D

Tunica County: D

Vicksburg Warren: D

West Bolivar: D

West Tallahatchie: D

Yazoo City: D


Categories: Local News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *