Mississippi Trailblazers awards ceremony held in Tupelo

TUPELO, Miss. (WCBI) – Celebrating diversity.

That was the theme highlighting the 17th Annual Mississippi Trailblazers awards ceremony in Tupelo this weekend.

Laughter, elegance and celebrations were on full display as more than 100 people came out to the gala.

During the event, six Mississippians ranging from educators, lawmakers and law enforcement officers were recognized for their contributions in helping promote diversity all throughout the state.

“The basic criteria is for people who have made a difference in diversity, that is what the whole program is about. people who have engaged in multi-cultural exchange, people who have engaged in positive race relations, and folks who’ve made a contribution to diversity,” said Trailblazers Vision Group CEO and president James Hull.

 Mississippi Trailblazer of the Year

  • Colonel Chris Gillard
    • Mississippi Highway Safety Patrol

Mississippi Trailblazers Leadership Award

  • Senator Chad McMahan,
    • Mississippi State Senate, District 6

Dr. Cindy Ayers Legacy Award

  • Dr. C. Sade Turnipseed,
    • Assistant Professor, MVSU

Tupelo Civic and Community Service Award

  • Mrs. Elois Mayfield,
    • Committee for King

Representative Leonard Morris Award for Public Service and Integrity

  • Mr. Nic Lott
    • Office of Governor Phil Bryant

Dr. Robert C. Khayat Distinguished Award for Diversity and Racial Reconciliation

  • Dr. Donald Cole
    • Assistant Provost, University of Mississippi
Categories: Local News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *