MUW Athletics Study Moves to Second Phase

COLUMBUS, Miss. — A broad-based committee charged with reviewing the potential for athletic programs at Mississippi University for Women has concluded its work by recommending that the university move ahead with further evaluation. The committee expressed general support for a return to athletics in some form.

Committee chair Perry Sansing, assistant to the president and university counsel, said that an outline of issues and considerations is currently being prepared.

“The committee raised many questions that now must be studied in-depth, including both programmatic and financial considerations,” he said. “We will now begin a self-study phase that looks at what is feasible and appropriate.

MUW President Jim Borsig has said he supports a return to athletics as part of the on-campus experience. “That may range all the way from club sports to intercollegiate athletics,” he said. “The self-study will tell us more.”

Committee members participating in the first phase included:

Carrie Ball-Williamson, athletic director, Itawamba Community College (Class of ‘81)

Menuka Ban, MUW SGA president

Mark Bean, professor of Health and Kinesiology, MUW

Dot Burdeshaw, former athletic director, MUW

Elaine Evans, co-president, MUW Alumni Association (Class of ‘70)

Rusty Greene, athletic director, Columbus Public School District

Bobby Harper, Renasant Bank

Katie Herrington, athletic director, Jones County Junior College (Class of ‘84)

Ruth Jones, chair, MUW Foundation (Class of ‘76)

Jim McAlexander, chair, Columbus LINK Board of Directors

Stan Miller, athletic director, Starkville Public School District

Dot Murphy, assistant athletic director, Hinds Community College (Class of ‘74)

Roger Short, executive director, Columbus-Lowndes Recreation Authority

Jo Spearman, former athletic director, MUW

Andy Thaggard, co-president, MUW Alumni Association (Class of ‘94)

Royal Toy, president, Faculty Senate, MUW

A campus committee will undertake the second phase of the study, Sansing said. “We thank each member of the initial committee who participated for their ideas, their commitment and their insights,” he said.

Categories: College Sports, Local News, Local Sports

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *