0 Comments for this article

NEMCC PTK NAMED BEST OF THE BEST–  Last year Northeast Mississippi Community College’s Iota Zeta chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) honor society was recognized as the number one college participant in Mississippi and the number one PTK chapter nationally in the Military Mail project through Friends of Our Troops.  Millions of pieces of mail have been sent to United States military troops since the founding of Vietnam Mail Call in 1965.  Northeast’s Iota Zeta chapter of PTK has participated in this project for many years.  Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, Mississippi, is the largest honor society in American higher education with 1,250 chapters on two-year and community college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, Germany, the Republic of Palau, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. More than two million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 100,000 students inducted annually. Recognized by the American Association of Community Colleges, Phi Theta Kappa is the official honor society of two-year colleges.  Pictured is (l-r) Joshua Harkey of Baldwyn, vice president for leadership; Clint Hawkins of Booneville, vice president for service; Clark Martin of Booneville, president; Devin McCalla of Kossuth, special project leadership team; and Dylan Shook of Booneville, service leadership team.  Chapter advisers are Dr. Ray Harris, Dr. Susan Scott, Craig Ellis-Sasser and Andrea Mathis.

Related News