Oxford Powerlifting Team Claims Fourth Consecutive Title

OXFORD, Miss. (PRESS RELEASE) – The Oxford Chargers Powerlifting Team winning their fourth consecutive state powerlifting championship came down to the last lift of the competition.

In fact, one team member’s lift sealed the first place spot for the Oxford Charger team as the 2016 MHSAA 5A State Powerlifting Champions.

One Charger team member’s lift sealed the first place spot for the Oxford Charger team.
As the state competition came down to the wire, Oxford Charger Jacquez Neilson had to lift 640 pounds on the final deadlift of the contest to give the Chargers their win.
His lift alone was the right amount of power to propel the Chargers to a 39 to 37 advantage over the Ridgeland Titans team.
“If the pendulum had swung in the other direction for the Chargers with Neilson missing the lift, the final score would have been reversed with Ridgeland then becoming the state powerlifting champions,” said Oxford Charger Powerlifting Head Coach Jason Russell.
“The championship title came down to the wire. Jacquez’s lift gave us the victory, and honestely, there is not really a better way to win than that.”
The Oxford Chargers qualified seven boys for the state powerlifting meet by placing in the top three at both the regional and north half meets.
Rival Ridgeland qualified 10 lifters from the south half.
In order for the the Chargers to win the state title this season, all seven lifters had to perform to expectations, and according to Coach Russell, they did not disappoint.   
“All seven of our lifters finished in the top three of their weight classes, and four lifters won individual weight class titles,” he said. “I am proud of the way our guys competed. It took an almost flawless performance by our lifters to clinch the victory. Ridgeland did a great job preparing for the meet, and they were extremely strong.” 
Oxford Charger Alex Le set the record for total weight lifted by a 132-pound lifter in 5A on his opening attempt. 
He later went on to break his own record on his second attempt.
First Place and Individual State Champs
132 pounds: Alex Le (set the 5A 132-pound total record)
148 pounds: Tias Hilliard
220 pounds: Kent Hickinbottom
308-plus pounds: Jacquez Neilson
Second Place
198 pounds: DQ Thomas
Third Place
275 pounds: Brandon Hill
308 pounds: Nick Sisk
Categories: Local News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *