Video: Starkville High Brings Home Top Journalism Awards

[bitsontherun imZEX3Kk]

STARKVILLE, Miss. – (PRESS RELEASE) Top honors for  Starkville High School’s  journalism team at the annual MSPA convention. They brought home an outstanding 28 total awards, including 11 top honors.
Leah Gibson was named MS Journalist of the Year and Broadcast Producer of the Year. Her documentary on Starkville’s GoPlay Initiative also won Best Creative Package. Emily Damm was named Broadcast Staff Member of the Year, and My Morning Jacket was named Best Overall Newscast in the state.

The My Morning Jacket broadcast program is only in its second year of existence, and has been fully funded by partnerships with Starkville Foundation for Public Education and the TV center at First United Methodist Church.

In the newspaper and yearbook categories, Angela White was named MS Yearbook Staff Member of the Year, Avery Cohen was awarded Best Column in MS, and Robert Dandass placed first in the News/Feature Photo category.

The Jacket Buzz as a whole placed first in both Best Features and Best Sports Coverage, and R. J. Morgan was named Yearbook Adviser of the Year.

Other awards:
Broadcast — 2nd Place Best News – My Morning Jacket
Broadcast — 2nd Place Best News Story – Leah Gibson
Broadcast — 2nd Place Best Creative Package – Barnes Locke
Broadcast — 3rd Place Best Feature Story – Mikala Taylor
Broadcast — 3rd Place Best Sports Story – Mikala Taylor

Newspaper — 2nd Place Best Column – Aaron Remotigue
Newspaper — 2nd Place Best Sports Writing – Avery Cohen
Newspaper — 3rd Place General Excellence – The Jacket Buzz
Newspaper — 3rd Place Opinion Writing – The Jacket Buzz
Newspaper — 3rd Place Best Column – Kelley Mazzola
Newspaper — 3rd Place Depth Reporting – Jareth Murrell, Ashley Rude, Rex Ames, Jordan Cohen
Newspaper — 3rd Place Best News Writing – Jareth Murrell
Newspaper — Honorable Mention Best News/Feature Photo – Alicia Carter
Newspaper — Honorable Mention Best Sports Writing – Aaron Remotigue
Newspaper — Honorable Mention Best Sports Column – Colin Damms
Newspaper — Honorable Mention Best Editorial – Avery Cohen

Yearbook — 3rd Place Best Theme – The Yellow Jacket

Categories: Local News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *