0 Comments for this article

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senators Thad Cochran (R-Miss.) and Roger Wicker (R-Miss) today announced the selection of Ethan Cartwright of Starkville and Brian Harrison of Pearl to represent Mississippi at the 51st annual United States Senate Youth Program (USSYP).

Cartwright and Harrison were chosen from the Mississippi students nominated to be among the 104 students from across the nation who will take part in the 2013 USSYP Washington Week, March 9-16 in Washington.

The USSYP Washington Week is an educational program that includes meetings and briefings with Senators, congressional staff, the President, a U.S. Supreme Court Justice and officials from cabinet agencies, the diplomatic corps and the media. Each delegate will receive a $5,000 undergraduate college scholarship from the Hearst Foundation, which funds the entire program.

“Mississippi has been well represented at this prestigious program in the past, and I expect Ethan Cartwright and Brian Harrison will carry on that tradition. The U.S. Senate Youth Program gives outstanding students opportunities to learn more about democracy, public service and government,” Cochran said.

“Ethan and Brian have demonstrated leadership abilities in their schools and in their communities,” said Wicker. “They will have the opportunity to meet with leaders from around the country through this outstanding program.”

Cartwright is a student at Starkville High School where he serves as a student council representative. In addition to being involved in student government, Cartwright is a member of the Model UN Team and Teenage Republican Club. He also served as a U.S. Senate Page in 2011.

Harrison, a student at Richland High School, is a student council representative, captain of the Academic Team and is active on the Beta Club and Richland Mayor’s Youth Council. As part of the Junior ROTC, Harrison leads 1,200 JROTC members in Rankin County as the district brigade commander. He has received the Legion of Valor Bronze Cross for Achievement and the George C. Marshall Award.

Mississippi’s alternate delegates to the 2013 program are Gautier High School student Justin Breland and Oxford High School student Taide Ding.

Cartwright and Harrison, as well as the Mississippi alternates, were designated by Ms. Lynn House, State Superintendent of Education, from among students nominated by teachers and principals.

The USSYP was created by Senate Resolution 324 in 1962 and has been sponsored by the Senate and fully funded by The Hearst Foundations since inception. No government funds are used. Two students from each state, the District of Columbia and the Department of Defense Education Activity take part in the annual program.

Comment on this Story

Related News

2 mins ago
0 Comments for this article
United Furniture Acquires Lane Furniture
Read More»
1 hour ago
0 Comments for this article
MSU’s Martinas Rankin Named 2017 Kent Hull Trophy Recipient
Read More»
2 hours ago
0 Comments for this article
Road Closed In Downtown Columbus
Read More»