0 Comments for this article

TUPELO Miss. — To sustain and enhance the downtown experience is the mission of the Downtown Tupelo Main Street Association (DTMSA). An annual meeting was held the morning of Tuesday, November 6th in honor of those who have contributed time, talent and finances towards the Downtown mission.

In addition to speeches made by the DTMSA Board President, Duke Loden and the DTMSA director, Debbie Brangenberg, Burkeley Young spoke on the subject of building the downtown experience. He shared his memories as a young boy strolling the downtown streets of his hometown, visiting the independently own department store and making relationships with local officials. Those were the moments for Young that made that town his home. Downtown Tupelo has created the same memories for many citizens of our town. With leadership and guidance, Downtown Tupelo continues to be a great place to live, as well as a great place to visit. “The key to a great community is a strong Main Street,” says Burkeley.

DTMSA is proud of the success 2012 has brought. Through community events, business promotions, the Main Street Project and building a historic district, Downtown Tupelo has grown tremendously. Specific projects and individuals who contributed to this growth were recognized at the meeting. The following were awarded for:

Best Façade Rehabilitation: Renasant Bank

Best Downtown Public Improvement: Kit Stafford, Anna Lindsey Garner & Tupelo High Art Students for the Farmers’ Market Wall Mural

Best Public-Private Partnership: Tupelo Convention & Visitors Bureau and the Tupelo Elvis Presley Fan Club for the Elvis Statue in Fairpark

Best Special Event: The Link Center- “Don’t Be Cruel Bar-B-Que Duel”

Special Service Awards:

Jon Milstead

Darrell Smith

Vicky Vance

Best Business Promotion: Devilish Mary’s & His Hers Antiques/Tea for T’Arts for “Spring on Green” & “Alice in Wonderland Tea”

Elvis Festival “Can to Can’t”:

Lyric: Bobby and Maria Geno

Fairpark: Gerald and Diane Powell

Business of the Year: His Hers Antiques & Collectibles & Tea for T’Arts Tea Room

Volunteer of the Year: Marianna Coffey

Board Member of the Year: Greg Bost

Spirit of Main Street: Randy Burchfield

Comment on this Story

Related News

45 mins ago
0 Comments for this article
Authorities Still Searching For Missing Man
Read More»
51 mins ago
0 Comments for this article
Burglary Suspect Wanted
Read More»
5 hours ago
0 Comments for this article
Alabama Unemployment Rate Drops
Read More»