Video: Chickasaw and Webster Counties Swear In New Officials

[syndicaster id=’6147146′]

[syndicaster id=’6147689′]

COLUMBUS, Miss. (WCBI) – Chickasaw County will usher in the new year with some new people in charge.

More than 30 elected officials in the county will begin serving their terms in 2016.

One by one today, they all took an oath in front of a crowded courthouse room in Houston.

Judges John Gregory and Kenneth Burns presided over the ceremony.

A new sheriff, coroner, and superintendent were among those sworn in today.

Sheriff James Meyers says he’s ready to put on the badge and go to work.

In a statement made to WCBI, Meyers said, “It was a long summer, a long campaign, but it was well worth it. I’ve been looking forward to being sworn in and I consider it an honor and a privilege to work for the citizens of Chickasaw County.”

Other county officials were sworn in later that morning during a ceremony in Okolona.

It was a similar scene in Webster County, as the latest elected officials receive the oath of office from Chancellor Kenneth Burns.

Family and friends joined the new and returning office holders.

This year’s ceremony was held at the Eupora Community Center, because the courthouse at Walthall has not been rebuilt after a 20-13 fire.

Categories: Election Results, Election Results MS, Election Results MS Local, Local News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *